Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Two Charlotte writers win $10,000 awards

 Two Charlotte writers, Aimee Parkison and Kathryn Schwille, are among 11 recipients of N.C. Arts Council literary fellowships for 2013-14.

The N.C. Arts Council awards the $10,000 fellowships to writers every other year to support new works by and creative development of N.C. artists.

Parkison, a UNC Charlotte English professor, is the author of two short story collections, "Woman with Dark Horses" and "The Innocent Party." She has won several writing prizes, including the 2004 Kurt Vonnegut Fiction Prize from North American Review. Read one of her stories: "Lessons from a Sinoloan Beauty Queen."

Schwille, a graduate of the Warren Wilson College MFA Program for Writers and a former Charlotte Observer editor, has published short stories in various magazines, including one cited for Special Mention, Pushcart Prize. Read one of her stories: "FM 104."

Other fellowship winners and their art forms are:
  • Keith Flynn, poetry, Asheville.
  • Shirlette Ammons, poetry, Durham.
  • Valerie Nieman, poetry, Greensboro.
  • Catherine Reid, creative nonfiction, Asheville.
  • Leigh Ann Henion, creative nonfiction, Boone.
  • Liza Wieland, nonfiction, Arapahoe.
  • Monica Byrne, playwriting, Durham.
  • Janet Allard, playwriting, Greensboro.
  • Preston Lane, playwriting, Greensboro.